Find It Here April/May 2011

|||||

Design Like a Pro: Wildly Formal, p. 20
Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, The University of Texas at Austin, 4801 La Crosse Ave., Austin, TX 78739, 512-232-0100, wildflower.org. The Wildflower Center has a database of more than 7,000 plants native to North America that allows searches for native plant info by plant traits or names.

Plant TNT: Fancy Tulips, p. 22
The sources below offer the bulbs mentioned. Note: Most tulip bulbs can be purchased only in fall, so the suppliers may not have them in stock in spring. 'Carnaval de Nice', 'Black Parrot', and 'Angelique': Tulip World, 8480 N. 87th St., Milwaukee, WI 53223, 866-688-9547, tulipworld.com. 'Green Wave', 'Burning Heart', 'Rembrandt's Favorite': John Scheepers, 23 Tulip Dr., PO Box 638, Bantam, CT 06750, 860-567-0838, johnscheepers.com. 'Black Jack': Sunshine Flower Bulbs, 368 Old Poverty Rd., Southbury, CT 06488, 877-735-7664, sunshineflowerbulbs.com. 'Honeymoon': Holland America Flower Gardens, 1066 S. Pekin Rd., Woodland, WA 98674, 360-225-4512, habfcatalog.com. 'Double Price': Roozengaarde & Washington Bulb Company, PO Box 1248, Mount Vernon, WA 98273, 866-488-5477, tulips.com. Resources: Netherlands Flower Bulb Information Center, bulb.com; Brent and Becky's Bulbs, 7900 Daffodil La., Gloucester, VA 23061, 804-693-3966, brentandbeckysbulbs.com.

Simply Fresh: A Leaf out of History, p. 30
'Flashy Troutback' lettuce seeds: Johnny's Selected Seeds, 955 Benton Ave., Winslow, ME 04901, 877-564-6697, johnnyseeds.com; Seed Savers Exchange, 3094 N. Winn Rd., Decorah, IA 52101, 563-382-5990, seedsavers.org (as 'Forellenschuss'); Territorial Seed Co., PO Box 158, Cottage Grove, OR 97424, 800-626-0866, territorialseed.com; Wild Garden Seed, PO Box 1509, Philomath, OR 97370, 541-929-4068, wildgardenseed.com.

Raising Potatoes, p. 40
Potato seed: Moose Tubers, PO Box 520, Waterville, ME 04903, 207-873-7333, fedcoseeds.com; Seed Savers Exchange, 3094 N. Winn Rd., Decorah, IA 52101, 563-382-5990, seedsavers.org; Wood Prairie Farm, 49 Kinney Rd., Bridgewater, ME 04735, 800-829-9765, woodprairie.com. Potato Grow Bags, raised Grow Bed: Gardener's Supply Co., 128 Intervale Rd., Burlington, VT 05401, 888-833-1412, gardeners.com.

Get Off the Grass, p. 46
Seeds and bareroot plants of native sedges; seeds of buffalograss, blue grama: Prairie Moon Nursery, 32115 Prairie La., Winona, MN 55987, 866-417-8156, prairiemoon.com. Native sedge plants: Pine Ridge Gardens, PO Box 200, London, AR 72847, 479-293-4359, pineridgegardens.com. Moss: Moss Acres, 59 Bates Rd., Honesdale, PA 18431, 866-438-6677, mossacres.com. Seeds of clover, stonecrops, blue grama, buffalograss: Outsidepride.com, 800-670-4192, outsidepride.com. Seeds of frogfruit: Lorenz's OK Seeds, PO Box 835, Okeene, OK 73763, 800-826-3655, lorenzsokseedsllc.com. Plants of thymes, stonecrops: Bluestone Perennials, 7211 Middle Ridge Rd., Madison, OH 44057, 800-852-5243, bluestoneperennials.com. Silver ponyfoot: Proven Winners, widely available in garden centers; retail finder at provenwinners.com (search for "dichondra"). Korean velvet grass is sold as sod, sprigs, and plugs in regions where it is hardy. Meadow design and consultation: John Greenlee, Greenlee & Associates, 284 Visitacion Ave., Brisbane, CA 94110, 415-468-1961, greenleeandassociates.com. Landscape design: James David, David Peese Design, 8 Sugar Creek, Austin, TX 78746, 512-327-9324, davidpeesedesign.com. For more help finding businesses that sell native plants and seeds, visit wildflower.org/suppliers.

Good Bug, Bad Bug: Mosquitoes, p. 76
Mosquito Dunks: MasterGardening.com, 9735A Bethel Rd., Frederick, MD 21702-2017, 888-407-9730, mastergardening.com.

We Like This! Just Grow Up! p. 88
3-Tiered Patio Planter: Monkeypots.com, 701 Palomar Airport Rd., Suite 300, Carlsbad, CA 92011, 760-814-8015, monkeypots.com. Veggie Wall: Frame It All, Scenery Solutions, 222 Grace Church St., Suite 302, Port Chester, NY 10573, 800-914-9835, frameitall.com. Garden Trellis Kit: Clean Air Gardening, 2266 Monitor Street, Dallas, TX 75207, 214-819-9500, cleanairgardening.com. Wood Planter Box with Trellises: Simply Trellises, Hayneedle, 12720 I St., Ste. 200, Omaha, NE 68137, 888-880-4884, simplytrellises.com.

ADVERTISMENT